Look around you, hear the music, be inspired...

The Copper Hat

"The Copper Hat" was recorded February of 2001 after a move to rural Pennsylvania. Many of the songs have stories behind their composition. During a visit to his mother, who at the time, was in the midst of Alzheimer's disease, he found that her husband had made her a copper wire hat in the shape of a pyramid to help improve her failing mind. She wore the copper hat, tied with ribbons under her chin, around the house. The song Copper Hat was composed when his mother spontaneously started dancing with complete innocence to his music with the copper hat on her head. 

The album is dedicated to his mother, the woman in the Copper Hat, who gave him the gift of piano.

A mention should also be made of the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire. 
Without a particularly memorable day spent there, there would be no Esmeralda & the 17 Goats.

Greg Maroney, Solo Piano ~ The Copper Hat
  1. November's Cascade  
  2. Passages 
  3. Esmeralda & the 17 Goats
  4. When You Come Home
  5. Person in the Mirror
  6. Dancers in the Sky
  7. The Copper Hat  
  8. Sweet Em
  9. Northern Dancer 
  10. The Wedding Song 
  11. The Merced 
  12. In the Garden 
  13. Dreams for TJ

Available as Digital Downloads from
CD Baby or iTunes

CD available direct from Greg
$9.99 includes shipping in US only

Some of the songs available as sheet music here

The Copper Hat” is Greg Maroney’s second album of original piano solos. Greg is a very passionate and eloquent composer/pianist who refers to his pieces as “soundscapes” - “a musical rendering of the way different places, events, and people affected me.” Maroney has a very powerful playing style that is exceptionally effective in expressing a wide range of emotions. His extensive classical training is obvious but tempered with his jazz background, and his musical palette is very colorful. Maroney’s music is substantial but accessible, and I highly recommend it. ~ By Kathy Parsons, Mainly Piano